Accents in text searches

A good search engine must be flexible since words searched by a user may be present in database, but in a different shape. The most obvious example is the presence of uppercase letters in the text: if a sentence begins with "Tomorrow, ...", this word must be recognized by the search engine even if the user has typed "tomorrow" or "TOMORROW".

Many written languages use special characters (accentuated or other) that cause the same issue: the same word can be written in different shapes depending on the presence or absence of those characters (especially because of uppercase letters, which are often unaccentuated). The french word "sérénité", if it appears in a title, may be written in the shape "SERENITE". The engine must not only ignore the case but also the accents.

The special characters issue becomes even more complicated when you have to find again the matching words in the text once out of the database. I had to implement this function in order to highlight those words in the text results found by our search engine. So I had to find a way to make a case- and special-character-insensitive search in a PHP string and to obtain the exact position of the found words, considering multi-byte characters.

While searching for a satisfying method to make that kind of search, I realized that many different solutions are offered online, and that most of those are incomplete or even erroneous. I present in this article the ones I have adopted, which work very fine.

In MySQL database

To make a text search in a MySQL database, several solutions are available, the simplest one being the use of the LIKE operator : link1, link2. For more advanced behaviors, the operators REGEXP (a.k.a. RLIKE) and MATCH() ... AGAINST may be necessary, especially if regular expressions are involved.

Since we don't need to manage regular expressions at the moment, I had a choice. I didn't choose MATCH() ... AGAINST because it implies creating FULLTEXT indexes on the text columns in the database and an overhead for the MySQL engine on every search. Furthermore, this operator has some behaviors that are useless to us and we cannot turn off. The REGEXP operator is out of the question since it does not manage multi-byte characters, and I found no solution to this problem online.

 So I simply use the LIKE operator, which is implemented to be case- and accent-insensitive. To make it work reliably with accents, you just have to specify it which character collation to use. The 'utf8_general_ci' collation is entirely satisfying to us (we just have French to manage for now) but others are more adapted to specific languages.

The only Unicode characters the LIKE operator does not manage correctly are those corresponding to two basic letters, for instance 'Œ' that corresponds to 'OE'. To get around this problem, I de-accentuate the search patterns, then add to the pattern list their every possible variation according to those characters (lowercase to limit the list size, MySQL recognizes flawlessly that 'Œ' and 'œ' are equivalent). As an example, if the pattern list contains 'Caesar', the treated list will contain 'caesar', 'cæsar' and 'cǽsar'.

 I wrote a function that generates the condition array to use in a find() to search for a pattern list in a database field. Since our text blocks are generated by TinyMCE, I added a pattern treatment: the TinyMCE special characters are replaced with their respective code to correspond to the stored texts.

/**
 * @param string $field: database field to search
 * @param array $patterns: patterns as strings
 * @param boolean $markUp: true if searched field contains markup (then patterns must be sanitized)
 * @return array: find condition array to match given field against given patterns (to be put in an 'OR' find condition key)
 */
public function matchFieldPatterns($field, $patterns, $markup = false) {
	$markupReplacements = array(
		'&' => '&',
		'<' => '&LT;',
		'>' => '&GT;',
	);
	$managedCollations = array('utf8_general_ci');

	$conditions = array();
	foreach ($patterns as $pattern) {
		if ($markup) { // Some characters have been sanitized for database storage
			// Sanitize pattern as well
			$pattern = str_replace(array_keys($markupReplacements), array_values($markupReplacements), $pattern);
		}
		// Add conditions to match this field against this pattern for each managed collation
		foreach ($managedCollations as $collation) {
			$conditions[] = sprintf("%s LIKE '%%%s%%' COLLATE %s", $field, $pattern, $collation);
		}
	}

	return $conditions;
}

Called with parameters $field='AModel.a_field', $patterns=array('Foo', '<bar>') and $markUp=true, this function returns this condition array (to be associated to an 'OR' key in find 'conditions' option) :

array(
	"AModel.a_field LIKE 'Foo' COLLATE utf8_general_ci",
	"AModel.a_field LIKE '&LT;bar&GT;' COLLATE utf8_general_ci"
)

In a PHP string

Once the texts have been found in the database, it may be useful to know the positions of the found words, typically to highlight those in the results display. To do that you must make a second search in the PHP strings from the database (possibly treated, to remove hypertext tags for instance), with the same insensibility to case and accents.

 The simplest way I found to do this is to transform the text and the patterns: replace all accentuated letters with their corresponding basic letter(s) and make all letters uppercase, thereby all equivalent words end up in the same shape and there is no more ambiguity. The difficulty lies in the fact that the positions will be determined in the transformed text but used in the original one, so multi-byte characters must be handled carefully.

To remove accents, I opted for a correspondance array associating each group of equivalent accentuated letters (as a regular expression) to the corresponding basic letter. It just so happens that Cake's Inflector class contains such an array, but some modifications are to be performed because some special characters are associated to several basic letters, apparently for consistencity with MySQL behavior. For instance the letter 'ü' is associated to 'ue' in that array because in some widely used MySQL collations, ('ü' LIKE 'ue') is true whereas ('ü' LIKE 'u') is false.

 I thus created an Accents class extending the Inflector class in order to gain access to this array (it is declared protected) and to correct it before using it (these corrections depend on managed languages). Once the accents stripped from text and patterns thanks to the static function Accents::strip(), we can use the PHP functions that handle multi-byte characters (mb_strpos()mb_substr(), ...) to find the positions of the words to highlight. There still remains the issue of the few unicode characters that must correspond to two basic letters and thus are not corrected in the correspondance array, like 'æ'. To manage that, just decrement the position of each match (computed in the transformed text) by 1 for each occurence of such a character before that match in the PHP string, and you will obtain the correct positions in the original text.

/**
 * Utility wrapper for customizing Inflector functionalities
 */
class Accents extends Inflector {

	/**
	 * Replaces accentuated or special letters from given string with corresponding basic letter
	 * @param string $string
	 * @return string 
	 */
	public static function strip($string) {
		$map = self::correctMap();
		return preg_replace(array_keys($map), array_values($map), $string);
	}

	/**
	 * Corrects some de-accentuations in Inflector's transliteration map (i.e. 'ü' => 'ue')
	 * @return array 
	 */
	public static function correctMap() {
		$map = self::$_transliteration;
		
		// Override incorrect transliterations
		$overrides = array(
			'/æ|ǽ/' => 'ae',
			'/œ/' => 'oe',
			'/ü/' => 'u',
			'/Ä/' => 'A',
			'/Ü/' => 'U',
			'/Ö/' => 'O',
		);
		foreach ($overrides as $accent => $basic) {
			$map[$accent] = $basic;
		}
		// Remove remaining incorrect transliterations
		$deletions = array('/ä|æ|ǽ/', '/ö|œ/');
		foreach ($deletions as $key) {
			unset($map[$key]);
		}
		
		return $map;
	}
}

Our implementation

I gathered these solutions in a plug-in containing my class Accents and a Behavior that makes a new find type available to models: 'search'. If you never used a find type other than the core ones ('first', 'all', ...), I suggest consulting the CookBook documentation about custom find types.

This plug-in is freely available on GitHub, and contains a complete implementation of the concepts presented above. This can be a good source of examples if you intend to create your own implementation without starting from scratch.

In order to test the plugin, you can use the search field on top of the page.

If you use this plug-in directly, do not hesitate to share with us your remarks and suggestions !

This page belongs to the following categories: news , CakePHP , Code , Plugin , Accents.

Comments

Add a comment

5105
Petits fours baked

Les accents dans les recherches texte

Un bon moteur de recherche se doit d'être souple, car les mots recherchés par l'internaute peuvent être présents dans la base de données, mais sous une forme différente. L'exemple le plus évident est la présence de capitales dans le texte: si une phrase commence par "Demain, ...", ce mot doit être reconnu par le moteur de recherche même si l'utilisateur a recherché "demain" ou "DEMAIN".

Beaucoup de langues écrites utilisent des caractères spéciaux (accentués ou autres) qui posent le même problème : un même mot peut être écrit sous différentes formes selon la présence ou l'absence de ces caractères (notament à cause des capitales, qui sont souvent désaccentuées). Le mot "sérénité", s'il apparaît dans un titre, peut très bien être sous la forme "SERENITE". Le moteur doit non seulement ignorer la casse mais également l'accentuation.

Le problème des caractères spéciaux se révèle d'autant plus épineux lorsqu'il faut retrouver les mots reconnus dans le texte une fois sorti de la base de données. J'ai eu à implémenter cette fonction afin de mettre en valeur ces mots dans l'affichage des textes trouvés par notre moteur de recherche. Il m'a donc fallu trouver un moyen d'effectuer une recherche insensible à la casse et aux caractères spéciaux dans une chaîne de caractères PHP, et d'obtenir les positions exactes des mots trouvés en tenant compte des caractères multi-octets.

En recherchant une méthode satisfaisante pour effectuer ce type de recherche, je me suis aperçu que beaucoup de solutions différentes sont proposées en ligne, et que la plupart de celles-ci sont incomplètes, voire erronées. J'expose donc dans la suite de cet article les solutions que j'ai adoptées, qui fonctionnent très bien.

En base de données MySQL

Pour effectuer une recherche texte en base de données MySQL, plusieurs solutions sont possibles, la plus simple étant d'utiliser l'opérateur LIKE : lien1, lien2. Pour des comportements plus évolués, les opérateurs REGEXP (alias RLIKE) et MATCH() ... AGAINST peuvent être nécessaires, notament si des expressions régulières sont impliquées.

Comme nous n'avons actuellement pas besoin de gérer d'expressions régulières, j'ai eu le choix. Je n'ai pas retenu MATCH() ... AGAINST car cela implique de créer des index FULLTEXT sur les colonnes concernées dans la base de données et une surcharge de travail pour le moteur MySQL à chaque recherche. De plus cet opérateur a certains comportements qui ne nous sont pas utiles et que l'on ne peut pas inhiber. L'opérateur REGEXP quant à lui est à proscrire car il ne gère pas les caractères multi-octets, et je n'ai vu aucune solution en ligne qui permette de contourner ce problème.

J'utilise donc tout simplement l'opérateur LIKE, qui est implémenté pour être insensible à la casse et à l'accentuation. Il suffit pour qu'il fonctionne de manière fiable au niveau des accents de lui préciser quelle collation de caractères utiliser. La collation 'utf8_general_ci' nous fournit entière satisfaction (nous n'avons que le français à gérer pour l'instant), mais d'autres sont plus adaptées à des langues spécifiques.

Les seuls caractères Unicode que l'opérateur LIKE ne gère pas correctement sont ceux qui correspondent à deux lettres basiques, par exemple 'Œ' qui correspond à 'OE'. Pour contourner ce problème, je désaccentue les motifs recherchés puis j'ajoute à la liste de motifs toutes leurs variations possibles en fonction de ces caractères (en bas de casse pour limiter la taille de la liste, MySQL reconnaît sans problème que 'Œ' et 'œ' sont équivalents). Par exemple si la liste de motifs contient 'Caesar', la liste traitée contiendra 'caesar', 'cæsar' et 'cǽsar'.

J'ai écrit une fonction qui génère le tableau de conditions à utiliser dans un find() pour rechercher un ensemble de motifs dans un champ en base de données. Comme nos blocs de texte sont générés par TinyMCE, j'ai ajouté un traitement des motifs: les caractères spéciaux de TinyMCE sont remplacés par leur code respectif pour correspondre aux textes enregistrés.

/**
 * @param string $field: database field to search
 * @param array $patterns: patterns as strings
 * @param boolean $markUp: true if searched field contains markup (then patterns must be sanitized)
 * @return array: find condition array to match given field against given patterns (to be put in an 'OR' find condition key)
 */
public function matchFieldPatterns($field, $patterns, $markup = false) {
	$markupReplacements = array(
		'&' => '&',
		'<' => '&LT;',
		'>' => '&GT;',
	);
	$managedCollations = array('utf8_general_ci');

	$conditions = array();
	foreach ($patterns as $pattern) {
		if ($markup) { // Some characters have been sanitized for database storage
			// Sanitize pattern as well
			$pattern = str_replace(array_keys($markupReplacements), array_values($markupReplacements), $pattern);
		}
		// Add conditions to match this field against this pattern for each managed collation
		foreach ($managedCollations as $collation) {
			$conditions[] = sprintf("%s LIKE '%%%s%%' COLLATE %s", $field, $pattern, $collation);
		}
	}

	return $conditions;
}

Appelée avec en paramètres $field='AModel.a_field', $patterns=array('Foo', '<bar>') et $markUp=true, cette fonction retourne le tableau de conditions suivant (à associer à une clé 'OR' dans l'option 'conditions' d'un find):

array(
	"AModel.a_field LIKE 'Foo' COLLATE utf8_general_ci",
	"AModel.a_field LIKE '&LT;bar&GT;' COLLATE utf8_general_ci"
)

Dans une chaîne de caractères PHP

Une fois que les textes ont été trouvés dans la base de données, il peut être utile de connaître la position des mots recherchés, typiquement pour les mettre en valeur dans l'affichage des résultats. Pour cela, il faut effectuer une deuxième recherche directement dans les chaînes PHP sorties de la base de données (éventuellement traitées, pour enlever les balises hypertexte par exemple), avec la même insensibilité à la casse et aux accents.

La manière la plus simple que j'ai trouvée pour effectuer ceci est de transformer le texte et les motifs: remplacer toutes les lettres accentuées par leur lettre basique correspondante et mettre toutes les lettres en capitales, ainsi tous les mots équivalents se retrouvent sous la même forme et il n'y a plus d'ambiguïté. La difficulté réside dans le fait que les positions seront déterminées dans le texte transformé mais utilisées dans le texte original, il faut donc bien faire attention aux caractères multi-octets.

Pour retirer les accents, j'ai opté pour un tableau de correspondance associant chaque groupe de lettres accentuées équivalentes (sous forme d'expression régulière) à la lettre basique correspondante. Il se trouve que la classe Inflector de Cake possède un tel tableau, mais quelques modifications sont à apporter car certains caractères spéciaux sont associés à plusieurs lettres basiques, apparemment dans un but de consistance avec le comportement de MySQL. Par exemple la lettre 'ü' est associée à 'ue' dans ce tableau car en MySQL, dans certaines collations répandues, ('ü' LIKE 'ue') est vrai alors que ('ü' LIKE 'u') est faux.

J'ai donc créé une classe Accents étendant la classe Inflector afin d'avoir accès à ce tableau (il est déclaré 'protected') et de le corriger avant de l'utiliser (ces corrections dépendent des langages gérés). Une fois les accents retirés du texte et des motifs grâce à la fonction statique Accents::strip(), on peut utiliser les fonctions PHP de chaînes de caractères qui gèrent les caractères multi-octets (mb_strpos(), mb_substr(), ...) pour trouver les positions des mots à mettre en valeur. Reste le problème des caractères Unicode qui doivent correspondre à deux lettres basiques et ne sont donc pas corrigées dans le tableau de correspondance, comme 'æ'. Pour remédier à cela, il suffit de décrémenter la position de chaque mot (calculée dans le texte transformé) de 1 pour chaque occurence d'un tel caractère avant ce mot dans la chaîne de caractères PHP, et on obtient la position correcte dans le texte original.

/**
 * Utility wrapper for customizing Inflector functionalities
 */
class Accents extends Inflector {

	/**
	 * Replaces accentuated or special letters from given string with corresponding basic letter
	 * @param string $string
	 * @return string 
	 */
	public static function strip($string) {
		$map = self::correctMap();
		return preg_replace(array_keys($map), array_values($map), $string);
	}

	/**
	 * Corrects some de-accentuations in Inflector's transliteration map (i.e. 'ü' => 'ue')
	 * @return array 
	 */
	public static function correctMap() {
		$map = self::$_transliteration;
		
		// Override incorrect transliterations
		$overrides = array(
			'/æ|ǽ/' => 'ae',
			'/œ/' => 'oe',
			'/ü/' => 'u',
			'/Ä/' => 'A',
			'/Ü/' => 'U',
			'/Ö/' => 'O',
		);
		foreach ($overrides as $accent => $basic) {
			$map[$accent] = $basic;
		}
		// Remove remaining incorrect transliterations
		$deletions = array('/ä|æ|ǽ/', '/ö|œ/');
		foreach ($deletions as $key) {
			unset($map[$key]);
		}
		
		return $map;
	}
}

Notre implémentation

J'ai rassemblé ces solutions dans un plug-in contenant ma classe Accents et un behavior qui met à disposition des modèles un nouveau type de find: 'search'. Si vous n'avez jamais utilisé de type de find autres que ceux de base ('first', 'all', ...), je vous invite à consulter la documentation du CookBook sur les custom find types.

Ce plugin est librement disponible sur GitHub, et contient une implémentation complète des concepts présentés pécédemment. Ce peut être une bonne source d'exemples si vous comptez créer votre propre implémentation sans partir de zéro.

Pour avoir un aperçu des résultats de la recherche, vous pouvez utiliser le champ de recherche en haut de la page.

Si vous utilisez ce plugin directement, n'hésitez pas à nous faire part de vos remarques ou suggestions !

Cette page appartient aux catégories suivantes: actualités , CakePHP , Code , Plugin , Accents.

Commentaires

Ajoutez un commentaire

5103
Petits fours servis